• Momentum
  • Posts
  • Guess this week's topics based on the emojis: 🥵🧵💍

Guess this week's topics based on the emojis: 🥵🧵💍

Plus your usual dose of VC and startup news

Hey there!

I’m gonna try to keep this week’s edition on the shorter side even though it’s been quite the week.

Here’s some of what you missed: It’s been humid as hell, July 4th was the hottest day on record, I chatted with some founders this week, had a recruiter interview for a VC job(!!!), one of my best friends got engaged, and Meta launched Threads this week.

I begrudgingly downloaded the app at 1 a.m. the first night while I tossed and turned from the heat. I selected the Instagram account I wanted to connect it to, perused the homepage and looked for people I knew…then promptly put it down. I haven’t opened the app since.

TBH, I’m impartial to the fact that your followers on Instagram can be so integrated into this new app. However, just because I’m impartial doesn’t mean it isn’t important for others! I can see how valuable this would be for business owners who don’t want to start from scratch again. Maybe if I had a big following on Instagram that I actually engaged with I’d feel differently. Either way, though, integration is valuable to most people. No one wants to build their audience from scratch every time a new platform crops up.

Personally, I really gravitate towards having a “clean slate” on a new social media platform—in the same way that TikTok was like a clean slate for so many creators. Creators who couldn’t initially grow their audience on Instagram wound up being able to grow an audience on TikTok with a different style of content. And with flying colors, might I add.

But maybe that’s just me. There are so many social media platforms at our disposal now that it can be tedious turning our attention from one to another.

One thing that would definitely earn the app some brownie points for me would be discoverability. This has been something I’ve always struggled with when creating content, and the struggle only intensified with every new algorithm change. One can argue that discoverability and follower integration may go hand-in-hand on this app but we’ll see how things go.

I just made my first post on Threads (I literally just copied and pasted one I made on LinkedIn yesterday and broke it up for Threads). So if that post reaches a lot of people given the fact that I only have 21 followers on the app right now, I’d be pretty impressed.

I’ll report back next week and let you know what happens.

STAY PLUGGED IN

Did someone forward this email to you? Subscribe here.

RAISING RIGHT NOW

Email me if you’d like an intro to any of the startups raising above!

KEEP UP WITH ME

Are you a founder looking for an investor? Submit your startup here and I’ll make an intro!

That’s all for right now. If you’re loving this newsletter, don’t forget to forward it to a friend who can also use some of these tips.

Catch you in the next one!

—Jasmin, Founder & EIC of Capital J